June 13, 2024


After four seasons away, the ABB FIA Formula E World Championship returns to the country where it all began, China, as the all-electric single-seater series gets set for its first visit to Shanghai. 22 drivers prepare to hit the tarmac of the iconic Shanghai International Circuit, May 25th-26th, for Rounds 11 and 12 of Season 10.

As the finale of the ABB FIA Formula E World Championship fast-approaches, the competition returns to China for the first time since Season 5. The fourth double-header weekend of Season 10 will be sure to heighten the battle for this year’s World Championship title.

With the first ever race of Formula E happening a decade ago on the streets of Beijing, all eyes will be on the 22 drivers to recreate the excitement of the last ten years in China’s largest city, Shanghai. With China being a world leader in EV mobility and driving technological progress, Shanghai is set to be a truly symbolic destination for Formula E in its tenth anniversary season.

Alberto Longo, Co-Founder and Chief Championship Officer, Formula E, said: “It is a special honour for Formula E to return to China for the first time since Season 5, especially to an iconic city such as Shanghai. The 2024 Shanghai E-Prix is the perfect way to celebrate ten years as the first all-electric motorsport, as we continue to push boundaries in electric mobility, just as China does in the development and adoption of electric vehicles.

“While racing in Shanghai is highly symbolic for Formula E, it will also be an incredible race weekend for fans. There is a passionate fanbase in the country, and we cannot wait for the fans in Shanghai to experience a completely new style of motor racing at one of the most premier motorsport venues in the world.”

For Formula E’s first visit to Shanghai, notable contenders include Sébastien Buemi, after his past Formula E success in China, he is currently the only driver on the grid to have won twice already in the country. He will also no doubt be eager to secure his first win of the season after earning a podium in Mexico City, in front of a home crowd for Envision Racing.

Another strong contender is António Félix da Costa, who recently claimed a home win for his Tag Heuer Porsche Formula E Team in Berlin less than two weeks ago. Buoyed by this recent success, da Costa will enter the race with renewed confidence despite facing challenges earlier in the season.

Chinese outfit, ERT Formula E Team, have been a part of the championship since Season 1, and after the 2024 Misano E-Prix gave them their best finish in six years, Dan Ticktum and Sergio Sette Camara will also be looking to impress on their team’s home soil.


For Formula E’s latest venture to China, the championship will be touching down at the iconic Shanghai International Circuit – a premier motorsport facility, known for its unique layout resembling the Chinese character “上” (shang), meaning ‘superior’.

Designed for top-tier motorsport global events, the circuit features a challenging combination of high-speed straights and tight corners, including the iconic loop of Turns 1 and 2. With state-of-the-art facilities, the circuit offers an exceptional experience for teams, media, and spectators.

The clockwise, 3.051km layout is a shortened version of the traditional Grand Prix circuit, which allows for more laps of racing with the added features that make up a thrilling Formula E E-Prix. For example, the positioning of the ATTACK MODE activation will sit on the outside of the long right-hander of Turn 2.

Since its inauguration in 2004, the circuit has hosted iconic races, significantly boosting local tourism and the economy. This also means that it is a venue familiar to some members of the Formula E grid, with many drivers racing there in the past. With an altered layout for Formula E cars, the track presents a familiar yet demanding atmosphere for the teams, with another expected energy-saving brawl to the finish line.


As Season 10 heads towards its final few laps, the second season of the GEN3 era has been fiercely competitive. The first ten rounds of the ABB FIA Formula E World Championship have seen eight different race winners and eleven drivers on the podium, with seven teams represented in the top ten of the Drivers’ standings currently.


China holds the distinction of being the first host of a Formula E race back at the 2014 Beijing E-Prix in Season 1. Since then, the championship has also raced on the streets of Hong Kong and the southern city of Sanya, making Season 10’s visit to Shanghai the fourth location in the country.

With seven races across the past three locations, there have been six different Formula E race winners in China, with Lucas di Grassi winning the first-ever Formula E race in Beijing during Season 1 in 2014. Sébastien Buemi secured victories in both the second Beijing race in Season 2 and the third Chinese race held in Hong Kong (Season 3). To this day, he’s the only Formula E winner to have won twice in the country.

In Season 4, Sam Bird and Felix Rosenqvist each claimed a win during the first Chinese double-header in Hong Kong. Season 5 saw Edoardo Mortara triumph in Hong Kong, followed by Jean-Éric Vergne’s victory in Sanya two weeks later.

The 2024 Shanghai E-Prix gets underway on Friday 24 May with Free Practice 1 at 17:00 local time (10:00 CEST).

Track action for the first day of the double-header starts on Saturday 25 May with Free Practice 2 at 08:00 local. Qualifying follows at 10:20 local time with lights out for Round 11 scheduled at 15:00 local/07:00 UTC.

Following this, Sunday’s action starts with Free Practice 3 at 08:00 local time, followed by Round 12 qualifying and race at 10:20 and 15:00 local time respectively.

Fans in the MENA region can tune into the Saturday & Sunday races live on SSC Extra 1. All sessions simulcast on shahid.net.

Last Updated on 3 weeks by Middle East News 247

    Middle East News 247

    Middle East News 247 delivers trending business and lifestyle news and essential infotainment for, and from the Middle East region, with key focus on the GCC nations: United Arab Emirates (UAE), Saudi Arabia, Qatar, Bahrain, Kuwait, and Oman.
    Follow Me:

    Related Posts